Diversity

Judging a book by its cover is human nature.  It’s an automatic trait that we all acquire in which allows us to gather information about the little information appearance gives us.  Of course, again, as humans, we make mistakes, and we are known to use this tool in a negative way.  We have all judged others more harshly than we should, and that is something that we can all own up to. I am absolutely guilty of this, as are all of my peers, and most of the people in the world. With all honesty, growing up in North Texas (specifically Denton) has taught me a lot about toleration and acceptance, and I am so thankful for that.  I judge people off of their appearance, as we all naturally do, but I’m not so much for judging their flaws or differences as I am just curious about their background, life story, name, family history, favorite TV show, etc. Not one of us is flawless, and we are all different.  Accept it, and learn from it.

Well, I mean I suppose I consider myself being identified with various cultural groups. I am a caucasian female, with much pride in her strong Native American and Irish heritage. I was born in Dallas, Texas, so I guess I am categorized with the “Southern” population. Your cultural background says a lot about you as an individual, and can be a key factor to how others judge, or categorize, you. Some values I can identify with include empathy, acceptance, love, faith, and morality.  These are challenged on a daily basis, believe it or not. As simple as they may seem, I meet people everyday whom I feel at least one of these values for, and may not agree or accept them. I’ve met people who have completely misjudged my values, and have been called names that are downright unfair.  I’ve been called out for being the judgmental one, or the one who thinks too highly of themselves. The image you give off may give others the wrong idea, so I have been trying to be more mindful of it. That is all apart of what challenges these values: people who are not advocates for the same values you believe in, or have the entirely wrong idea about who you are. My mom always taught me to “kill em with kindness.” It all goes back to tolerance, and acceptance. Accept it, and learn from it. 

I am such a strong advocate for these values especially because of my upbringing, as well as my experience with how I have been brutally judged. As a caucasian, upper class female, I have always been knocked down by my peers for being such. I want to show people that stereotypes are not valid bases of judgement. Of course, being in a sorority may not be helping my case. But I want others to recognize the hard work and passion that my organization does have, and how we strive to empower each other, and our student body. I don’t want people to see me on campus and say, “that girl’s in a sorority; they’re the stuck up bitches on campus.” Excuse my french, but you wouldn’t believe how many times I’ve heard that. I’d love to show people that, while they may have had bad experiences with Greek Life, that we are not all that bad. Accept it, and learn from it. 

Leave a Reply

